NTEE major group B

Education

The group is the first character of NTEE_CD on the Exempt Organizations Business Master File. The revocation file does not carry NTEE, so this page does not assign automatic revocations to the group. Labels are the IRS common-code names.

188,414

Organizations on the current BMF in this group.

IRS EO BMF eo1.csv–eo4.csv · file last-modified October 13, 2026 UTC · IRS page posting date 10/13/2026 · parsed October 19, 2026 UTC

By state

Organizations by state
GroupOrganizations
California20,247
Texas17,803
Florida10,737
New York10,350
Pennsylvania7,213
Illinois6,958
Ohio6,913
Georgia6,406
North Carolina6,256
New Jersey6,002
Virginia5,368
Massachusetts5,167
Michigan5,035
Washington4,806
Maryland3,974
Minnesota3,816
Indiana3,694
Arizona3,671
Colorado3,633
Wisconsin3,510
Tennessee3,475
Missouri3,412
South Carolina2,688
Oregon2,671
Connecticut2,498
Alabama2,269
Kentucky2,175
Oklahoma2,143
Iowa2,045
Louisiana1,998
Kansas1,661
District of Columbia1,508
Utah1,473
Arkansas1,460
Mississippi1,311
Nevada1,252
New Hampshire1,127
Idaho1,098
Nebraska1,069
New Mexico1,061
Maine1,001
Delaware927
Montana909
Hawaii856
West Virginia833
Rhode Island740
Vermont689
South Dakota524
Alaska494
Wyoming480
North Dakota437
Puerto Rico308
Not stated154
VI61
MP14
AE9
AP9
AS8
GU8

Tracked states also have their own pages. Example: California.

By subsection

Organizations by subsection
GroupOrganizations
501(c)(3)183,963
501(c)(7) social or recreational club2,403
501(c)(4) civic league, social welfare, or local employee association1,174
501(c)(6) business league, chamber of commerce, or real estate board500
501(c)(5) labor, agricultural, or horticultural220
501(c)(2) title-holding corporation46
501(c)(10) domestic fraternal society26
501(c)(1) government instrumentality18
501(c)(8) fraternal beneficiary society18
501(c)(19) veterans' organization14
4947(a)(1) private foundation (Form 990-PF filer)12
501(c)(9) voluntary employees' beneficiary association9
Subsection 91 (description not in the EO BMF code table used here)4
501(c)(12) benevolent life insurance, mutual ditch, or cooperative telephone3
501(c)(13) cemetery company2
501(c)(25) title-holding company for pensions2

By ruling year

Ruling year is the year on the determination letter, not the month the EIN was added to the extract.

Organizations by ruling year
GroupOrganizations
202515,833
202414,241
202612,395
202310,157
20229,482
20149,104
20197,494
20216,227
20156,059
20185,974
20165,917
20175,811
20205,734
Not stated67