NTEE major group C
Environment
The group is the first character of NTEE_CD on the Exempt Organizations Business Master File. The revocation file does not carry NTEE, so this page does not assign automatic revocations to the group. Labels are the IRS common-code names.
28,927
Organizations on the current BMF in this group.
IRS EO BMF eo1.csv–eo4.csv · file last-modified October 13, 2026 UTC · IRS page posting date 10/13/2026 · parsed October 19, 2026 UTC
By state
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| California | 3,487 |
| New York | 1,685 |
| Florida | 1,569 |
| Texas | 1,353 |
| Pennsylvania | 1,093 |
| Massachusetts | 1,035 |
| Washington | 905 |
| Wisconsin | 889 |
| Michigan | 883 |
| Colorado | 859 |
| Virginia | 844 |
| Tennessee | 784 |
| North Carolina | 756 |
| Oregon | 755 |
| Ohio | 720 |
| Minnesota | 705 |
| Illinois | 651 |
| Georgia | 622 |
| New Jersey | 567 |
| Maryland | 544 |
| Indiana | 531 |
| Arizona | 468 |
| Connecticut | 441 |
| Maine | 426 |
| Hawaii | 396 |
| District of Columbia | 375 |
| South Carolina | 355 |
| Iowa | 347 |
| Missouri | 339 |
| Montana | 323 |
| Louisiana | 295 |
| Alabama | 284 |
| Kentucky | 281 |
| Utah | 269 |
| New Hampshire | 261 |
| Vermont | 255 |
| New Mexico | 248 |
| Idaho | 224 |
| Nevada | 216 |
| Alaska | 193 |
| Oklahoma | 178 |
| Wyoming | 169 |
| Kansas | 167 |
| Rhode Island | 157 |
| Arkansas | 156 |
| West Virginia | 154 |
| Delaware | 149 |
| Nebraska | 133 |
| Mississippi | 132 |
| South Dakota | 104 |
| Puerto Rico | 71 |
| North Dakota | 51 |
| Not stated | 40 |
| VI | 20 |
| GU | 5 |
| AS | 3 |
| MP | 3 |
| AE | 1 |
| FM | 1 |
Tracked states also have their own pages. Example: California.
By subsection
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 501(c)(3) | 27,755 |
| 501(c)(4) civic league, social welfare, or local employee association | 737 |
| 501(c)(6) business league, chamber of commerce, or real estate board | 143 |
| 501(c)(12) benevolent life insurance, mutual ditch, or cooperative telephone | 103 |
| 501(c)(7) social or recreational club | 94 |
| 501(c)(5) labor, agricultural, or horticultural | 85 |
| 501(c)(2) title-holding corporation | 3 |
| 501(c)(8) fraternal beneficiary society | 2 |
| 501(c)(13) cemetery company | 2 |
| 501(c)(19) veterans' organization | 1 |
| 501(c)(25) title-holding company for pensions | 1 |
| 4947(a)(1) private foundation (Form 990-PF filer) | 1 |
By ruling year
Ruling year is the year on the determination letter, not the month the EIN was added to the extract.
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 2025 | 2,133 |
| 2024 | 2,102 |
| 2026 | 1,615 |
| 2022 | 1,572 |
| 2023 | 1,499 |
| 2014 | 1,312 |
| 2019 | 1,039 |
| 2021 | 1,015 |
| 2020 | 910 |
| 2015 | 894 |
| 2016 | 804 |
| 2018 | 793 |
| 2017 | 792 |
| Not stated | 16 |