NTEE major group D
Animal-Related
The group is the first character of NTEE_CD on the Exempt Organizations Business Master File. The revocation file does not carry NTEE, so this page does not assign automatic revocations to the group. Labels are the IRS common-code names.
42,007
Organizations on the current BMF in this group.
IRS EO BMF eo1.csv–eo4.csv · file last-modified October 13, 2026 UTC · IRS page posting date 10/13/2026 · parsed October 19, 2026 UTC
By state
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| California | 4,923 |
| Texas | 3,440 |
| Florida | 3,260 |
| New York | 2,047 |
| Pennsylvania | 1,616 |
| North Carolina | 1,492 |
| Ohio | 1,409 |
| Arizona | 1,247 |
| Virginia | 1,199 |
| Michigan | 1,127 |
| Georgia | 1,115 |
| Illinois | 1,107 |
| New Jersey | 1,044 |
| Washington | 1,024 |
| Tennessee | 981 |
| Colorado | 978 |
| Indiana | 767 |
| Missouri | 756 |
| Wisconsin | 744 |
| Oregon | 739 |
| Massachusetts | 733 |
| South Carolina | 733 |
| Maryland | 690 |
| Minnesota | 592 |
| Kentucky | 581 |
| Alabama | 547 |
| Oklahoma | 539 |
| Connecticut | 516 |
| Nevada | 488 |
| Louisiana | 434 |
| Arkansas | 394 |
| Iowa | 371 |
| New Mexico | 361 |
| Kansas | 331 |
| Utah | 306 |
| Mississippi | 290 |
| Montana | 288 |
| Idaho | 282 |
| West Virginia | 275 |
| Maine | 265 |
| Hawaii | 226 |
| Nebraska | 216 |
| North Dakota | 196 |
| New Hampshire | 193 |
| Delaware | 176 |
| Wyoming | 169 |
| Vermont | 159 |
| Alaska | 154 |
| Rhode Island | 150 |
| South Dakota | 118 |
| Puerto Rico | 100 |
| District of Columbia | 66 |
| Not stated | 25 |
| VI | 16 |
| MP | 4 |
| AE | 3 |
| GU | 3 |
| AS | 1 |
| PW | 1 |
Tracked states also have their own pages. Example: California.
By subsection
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 501(c)(3) | 40,888 |
| 501(c)(4) civic league, social welfare, or local employee association | 636 |
| 501(c)(7) social or recreational club | 269 |
| 501(c)(5) labor, agricultural, or horticultural | 136 |
| 501(c)(6) business league, chamber of commerce, or real estate board | 66 |
| 4947(a)(1) private foundation (Form 990-PF filer) | 6 |
| 501(c)(2) title-holding corporation | 2 |
| 501(c)(10) domestic fraternal society | 1 |
| 501(c)(13) cemetery company | 1 |
| 501(c)(19) veterans' organization | 1 |
| 501(d) apostolic and religious organization | 1 |
By ruling year
Ruling year is the year on the determination letter, not the month the EIN was added to the extract.
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 2025 | 3,793 |
| 2024 | 3,676 |
| 2026 | 2,894 |
| 2023 | 2,710 |
| 2022 | 2,544 |
| 2014 | 2,136 |
| 2019 | 1,849 |
| 2021 | 1,744 |
| 2020 | 1,664 |
| 2018 | 1,630 |
| 2016 | 1,595 |
| 2015 | 1,543 |
| 2017 | 1,501 |
| Not stated | 10 |