NTEE major group H
Medical Research
The group is the first character of NTEE_CD on the Exempt Organizations Business Master File. The revocation file does not carry NTEE, so this page does not assign automatic revocations to the group. Labels are the IRS common-code names.
6,346
Organizations on the current BMF in this group.
IRS EO BMF eo1.csv–eo4.csv · file last-modified October 13, 2026 UTC · IRS page posting date 10/13/2026 · parsed October 19, 2026 UTC
By state
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| California | 782 |
| New York | 521 |
| Texas | 444 |
| Florida | 414 |
| Illinois | 315 |
| Massachusetts | 312 |
| Pennsylvania | 277 |
| Ohio | 209 |
| Maryland | 206 |
| New Jersey | 199 |
| North Carolina | 179 |
| Michigan | 170 |
| Virginia | 161 |
| Arizona | 147 |
| Colorado | 140 |
| Georgia | 139 |
| Wisconsin | 116 |
| Washington | 112 |
| Minnesota | 109 |
| Tennessee | 99 |
| Connecticut | 98 |
| Indiana | 94 |
| Missouri | 89 |
| South Carolina | 82 |
| District of Columbia | 80 |
| Alabama | 71 |
| Oregon | 68 |
| Louisiana | 65 |
| Kentucky | 54 |
| Delaware | 47 |
| Kansas | 46 |
| Iowa | 44 |
| Oklahoma | 43 |
| Nevada | 41 |
| Arkansas | 40 |
| Utah | 37 |
| Idaho | 30 |
| Nebraska | 27 |
| Hawaii | 24 |
| New Hampshire | 23 |
| Mississippi | 21 |
| Montana | 21 |
| New Mexico | 21 |
| Rhode Island | 21 |
| Maine | 19 |
| South Dakota | 19 |
| Wyoming | 15 |
| Not stated | 13 |
| West Virginia | 13 |
| Puerto Rico | 9 |
| Vermont | 9 |
| Alaska | 5 |
| North Dakota | 4 |
| AP | 1 |
| VI | 1 |
Tracked states also have their own pages. Example: California.
By subsection
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 501(c)(3) | 6,253 |
| 501(c)(6) business league, chamber of commerce, or real estate board | 46 |
| 501(c)(4) civic league, social welfare, or local employee association | 32 |
| 501(c)(7) social or recreational club | 8 |
| 501(c)(8) fraternal beneficiary society | 2 |
| 4947(a)(1) private foundation (Form 990-PF filer) | 2 |
| 501(c)(2) title-holding corporation | 1 |
| 501(c)(5) labor, agricultural, or horticultural | 1 |
| 501(c)(10) domestic fraternal society | 1 |
By ruling year
Ruling year is the year on the determination letter, not the month the EIN was added to the extract.
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 2025 | 504 |
| 2024 | 459 |
| 2026 | 386 |
| 2022 | 332 |
| 2023 | 324 |
| 2014 | 313 |
| 2019 | 287 |
| 2021 | 234 |
| 2016 | 220 |
| 2020 | 214 |
| 2018 | 212 |
| 2015 | 202 |
| 2017 | 194 |
| Not stated | 3 |