NTEE major group J
Employment
The group is the first character of NTEE_CD on the Exempt Organizations Business Master File. The revocation file does not carry NTEE, so this page does not assign automatic revocations to the group. Labels are the IRS common-code names.
15,992
Organizations on the current BMF in this group.
IRS EO BMF eo1.csv–eo4.csv · file last-modified October 13, 2026 UTC · IRS page posting date 10/13/2026 · parsed October 19, 2026 UTC
By state
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| California | 1,743 |
| New York | 1,321 |
| Texas | 871 |
| Pennsylvania | 833 |
| Ohio | 822 |
| Florida | 681 |
| Illinois | 675 |
| Michigan | 573 |
| Minnesota | 504 |
| Indiana | 481 |
| Georgia | 471 |
| Washington | 450 |
| Massachusetts | 438 |
| New Jersey | 417 |
| Virginia | 391 |
| Maryland | 372 |
| North Carolina | 360 |
| Oregon | 320 |
| Missouri | 310 |
| Connecticut | 281 |
| Wisconsin | 279 |
| Colorado | 247 |
| Tennessee | 215 |
| Arizona | 209 |
| Alabama | 195 |
| District of Columbia | 180 |
| Kentucky | 166 |
| Louisiana | 156 |
| West Virginia | 156 |
| South Carolina | 143 |
| Oklahoma | 142 |
| Iowa | 139 |
| Nevada | 133 |
| New Hampshire | 104 |
| Utah | 97 |
| Arkansas | 94 |
| Mississippi | 92 |
| Rhode Island | 89 |
| Nebraska | 84 |
| New Mexico | 84 |
| Kansas | 81 |
| Delaware | 76 |
| Vermont | 71 |
| Montana | 68 |
| Idaho | 65 |
| Hawaii | 62 |
| Alaska | 60 |
| Maine | 54 |
| Wyoming | 45 |
| South Dakota | 35 |
| North Dakota | 29 |
| Puerto Rico | 14 |
| Not stated | 5 |
| GU | 4 |
| VI | 3 |
| AE | 1 |
| AS | 1 |
Tracked states also have their own pages. Example: California.
By subsection
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 501(c)(3) | 8,242 |
| 501(c)(5) labor, agricultural, or horticultural | 6,830 |
| 501(c)(6) business league, chamber of commerce, or real estate board | 430 |
| 501(c)(4) civic league, social welfare, or local employee association | 373 |
| 501(c)(9) voluntary employees' beneficiary association | 40 |
| 501(c)(2) title-holding corporation | 34 |
| 501(c)(7) social or recreational club | 17 |
| 501(c)(8) fraternal beneficiary society | 17 |
| 501(c)(19) veterans' organization | 7 |
| 501(c)(14) credit union or mutual corporation | 1 |
| 501(c)(25) title-holding company for pensions | 1 |
By ruling year
Ruling year is the year on the determination letter, not the month the EIN was added to the extract.
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 2025 | 1,354 |
| 2026 | 1,006 |
| 2024 | 928 |
| 2015 | 881 |
| 2019 | 760 |
| 2023 | 712 |
| 2022 | 682 |
| 2014 | 643 |
| 2020 | 500 |
| 2016 | 480 |
| 2021 | 449 |
| 2018 | 425 |
| 2017 | 397 |
| Not stated | 7 |