NTEE major group M

Public Safety, Disaster Preparedness and Relief

The group is the first character of NTEE_CD on the Exempt Organizations Business Master File. The revocation file does not carry NTEE, so this page does not assign automatic revocations to the group. Labels are the IRS common-code names.

22,751

Organizations on the current BMF in this group.

IRS EO BMF eo1.csv–eo4.csv · file last-modified October 13, 2026 UTC · IRS page posting date 10/13/2026 · parsed October 19, 2026 UTC

By state

Organizations by state
GroupOrganizations
Pennsylvania2,032
Texas1,848
New York1,786
California1,546
North Carolina1,175
New Jersey910
Florida880
Virginia768
Ohio758
Indiana574
Wisconsin534
Iowa524
Alabama491
Michigan472
Tennessee466
Maryland430
Washington411
Missouri399
Illinois387
Minnesota386
Colorado384
Georgia380
Kentucky370
Oregon363
West Virginia302
Arizona292
Massachusetts277
South Carolina260
Connecticut259
Louisiana253
Arkansas240
Oklahoma237
Montana209
New Hampshire170
Mississippi163
Idaho150
Vermont144
Maine140
South Dakota137
Utah125
Nebraska121
Nevada121
New Mexico109
Delaware105
Kansas104
North Dakota104
Alaska103
Wyoming99
District of Columbia75
Hawaii70
Rhode Island60
Puerto Rico38
VI6
Not stated4

Tracked states also have their own pages. Example: California.

By subsection

Organizations by subsection
GroupOrganizations
501(c)(3)21,230
501(c)(4) civic league, social welfare, or local employee association1,332
501(c)(6) business league, chamber of commerce, or real estate board76
501(c)(5) labor, agricultural, or horticultural61
501(c)(7) social or recreational club21
501(c)(9) voluntary employees' beneficiary association9
501(c)(12) benevolent life insurance, mutual ditch, or cooperative telephone8
501(c)(8) fraternal beneficiary society4
501(c)(2) title-holding corporation2
501(c)(10) domestic fraternal society2
501(c)(19) veterans' organization2
501(c)(13) cemetery company1
501(c)(15) mutual insurance company1
501(c)(17) supplemental unemployment benefit trust1
4947(a)(1) private foundation (Form 990-PF filer)1

By ruling year

Ruling year is the year on the determination letter, not the month the EIN was added to the extract.

Organizations by ruling year
GroupOrganizations
20251,933
20241,523
20141,371
20261,371
20231,100
20221,086
2019976
2017831
2018818
2016812
2015811
2020745
2021745
Not stated1