NTEE major group S
Community Improvement & Capacity Building
The group is the first character of NTEE_CD on the Exempt Organizations Business Master File. The revocation file does not carry NTEE, so this page does not assign automatic revocations to the group. Labels are the IRS common-code names.
73,203
Organizations on the current BMF in this group.
IRS EO BMF eo1.csv–eo4.csv · file last-modified October 13, 2026 UTC · IRS page posting date 10/13/2026 · parsed October 19, 2026 UTC
By state
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| California | 6,971 |
| Texas | 5,365 |
| New York | 4,501 |
| Florida | 3,831 |
| Ohio | 2,848 |
| Pennsylvania | 2,848 |
| Illinois | 2,820 |
| Georgia | 2,367 |
| North Carolina | 2,334 |
| Michigan | 2,307 |
| Virginia | 2,117 |
| Maryland | 1,816 |
| New Jersey | 1,730 |
| Washington | 1,624 |
| Indiana | 1,621 |
| Missouri | 1,616 |
| Massachusetts | 1,554 |
| Wisconsin | 1,472 |
| Minnesota | 1,412 |
| Colorado | 1,398 |
| Tennessee | 1,389 |
| Alabama | 1,176 |
| South Carolina | 1,150 |
| Louisiana | 1,140 |
| Oregon | 1,132 |
| Iowa | 1,093 |
| Arizona | 1,042 |
| District of Columbia | 952 |
| Kentucky | 931 |
| Oklahoma | 819 |
| Connecticut | 740 |
| Kansas | 740 |
| Arkansas | 703 |
| Mississippi | 635 |
| Nevada | 582 |
| Nebraska | 552 |
| Utah | 489 |
| New Mexico | 480 |
| West Virginia | 478 |
| Montana | 472 |
| Hawaii | 461 |
| Idaho | 424 |
| Delaware | 397 |
| South Dakota | 386 |
| Maine | 382 |
| New Hampshire | 363 |
| Alaska | 279 |
| Vermont | 277 |
| North Dakota | 273 |
| Rhode Island | 243 |
| Wyoming | 219 |
| Puerto Rico | 163 |
| Not stated | 45 |
| VI | 24 |
| AP | 6 |
| AE | 5 |
| AS | 5 |
| GU | 3 |
| MP | 1 |
Tracked states also have their own pages. Example: California.
By subsection
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 501(c)(3) | 46,232 |
| 501(c)(6) business league, chamber of commerce, or real estate board | 19,281 |
| 501(c)(4) civic league, social welfare, or local employee association | 5,322 |
| 501(c)(2) title-holding corporation | 1,145 |
| 501(c)(7) social or recreational club | 345 |
| 501(c)(25) title-holding company for pensions | 302 |
| 501(c)(5) labor, agricultural, or horticultural | 229 |
| 501(c)(8) fraternal beneficiary society | 169 |
| 501(c)(10) domestic fraternal society | 70 |
| 501(c)(19) veterans' organization | 44 |
| 501(c)(12) benevolent life insurance, mutual ditch, or cooperative telephone | 36 |
| 501(c)(13) cemetery company | 15 |
| 501(c)(9) voluntary employees' beneficiary association | 5 |
| 501(c)(14) credit union or mutual corporation | 3 |
| 501(c)(15) mutual insurance company | 2 |
| 4947(a)(1) private foundation (Form 990-PF filer) | 2 |
| Subsection 00 (description not in the EO BMF code table used here) | 1 |
By ruling year
Ruling year is the year on the determination letter, not the month the EIN was added to the extract.
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 2025 | 6,650 |
| 2024 | 5,733 |
| 2026 | 4,820 |
| 2023 | 3,991 |
| 2014 | 3,917 |
| 2022 | 3,734 |
| 2019 | 3,169 |
| 2015 | 2,805 |
| 2016 | 2,726 |
| 2020 | 2,675 |
| 2017 | 2,552 |
| 2018 | 2,495 |
| 2021 | 2,487 |
| Not stated | 14 |