NTEE major group T
Philanthropy, Voluntarism and Grantmaking Foundations
The group is the first character of NTEE_CD on the Exempt Organizations Business Master File. The revocation file does not carry NTEE, so this page does not assign automatic revocations to the group. Labels are the IRS common-code names.
105,658
Organizations on the current BMF in this group.
IRS EO BMF eo1.csv–eo4.csv · file last-modified October 13, 2026 UTC · IRS page posting date 10/13/2026 · parsed October 19, 2026 UTC
By state
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| California | 11,066 |
| New York | 9,570 |
| Texas | 8,290 |
| Florida | 8,192 |
| Pennsylvania | 4,741 |
| Illinois | 4,389 |
| New Jersey | 3,900 |
| Ohio | 3,611 |
| Massachusetts | 3,023 |
| Georgia | 2,795 |
| Missouri | 2,707 |
| Michigan | 2,647 |
| Virginia | 2,504 |
| Delaware | 2,490 |
| North Carolina | 2,443 |
| Maryland | 2,104 |
| Colorado | 1,951 |
| Minnesota | 1,913 |
| Washington | 1,890 |
| Wisconsin | 1,838 |
| Indiana | 1,602 |
| Connecticut | 1,589 |
| Arizona | 1,583 |
| Tennessee | 1,565 |
| Alabama | 1,255 |
| South Carolina | 1,086 |
| Oklahoma | 1,075 |
| Utah | 1,063 |
| Iowa | 1,021 |
| Nevada | 954 |
| Kansas | 950 |
| Oregon | 948 |
| Louisiana | 930 |
| Kentucky | 927 |
| Nebraska | 734 |
| Arkansas | 591 |
| District of Columbia | 526 |
| New Hampshire | 485 |
| Maine | 449 |
| Hawaii | 448 |
| Montana | 447 |
| Idaho | 443 |
| Mississippi | 428 |
| West Virginia | 392 |
| New Mexico | 371 |
| Wyoming | 347 |
| Rhode Island | 314 |
| South Dakota | 293 |
| Vermont | 246 |
| North Dakota | 188 |
| Alaska | 133 |
| Not stated | 120 |
| Puerto Rico | 65 |
| VI | 18 |
| GU | 3 |
| AE | 2 |
| AP | 2 |
| AS | 1 |
Tracked states also have their own pages. Example: California.
By subsection
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 501(c)(3) | 104,893 |
| 501(c)(4) civic league, social welfare, or local employee association | 440 |
| 501(c)(6) business league, chamber of commerce, or real estate board | 94 |
| 4947(a)(1) private foundation (Form 990-PF filer) | 61 |
| 501(c)(7) social or recreational club | 41 |
| 501(c)(5) labor, agricultural, or horticultural | 31 |
| 501(c)(8) fraternal beneficiary society | 22 |
| 501(c)(2) title-holding corporation | 20 |
| 501(c)(13) cemetery company | 15 |
| 501(c)(19) veterans' organization | 15 |
| 501(c)(10) domestic fraternal society | 12 |
| 501(c)(9) voluntary employees' beneficiary association | 7 |
| 501(c)(12) benevolent life insurance, mutual ditch, or cooperative telephone | 3 |
| 501(c)(25) title-holding company for pensions | 3 |
| Subsection 91 (description not in the EO BMF code table used here) | 1 |
By ruling year
Ruling year is the year on the determination letter, not the month the EIN was added to the extract.
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 2025 | 5,814 |
| 2022 | 5,482 |
| 2024 | 5,195 |
| 2023 | 4,609 |
| 2019 | 4,087 |
| 2026 | 3,901 |
| 2015 | 3,641 |
| 2014 | 3,581 |
| 2017 | 3,523 |
| 2016 | 3,488 |
| 2018 | 3,416 |
| 2021 | 3,368 |
| 2020 | 3,005 |
| Not stated | 21 |