NTEE major group U
Science & Technology
The group is the first character of NTEE_CD on the Exempt Organizations Business Master File. The revocation file does not carry NTEE, so this page does not assign automatic revocations to the group. Labels are the IRS common-code names.
6,929
Organizations on the current BMF in this group.
IRS EO BMF eo1.csv–eo4.csv · file last-modified October 13, 2026 UTC · IRS page posting date 10/13/2026 · parsed October 19, 2026 UTC
By state
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| California | 1,142 |
| Texas | 453 |
| Florida | 377 |
| New York | 362 |
| Virginia | 315 |
| Massachusetts | 280 |
| Washington | 239 |
| Ohio | 220 |
| Illinois | 208 |
| Colorado | 204 |
| Maryland | 199 |
| Pennsylvania | 194 |
| North Carolina | 185 |
| Michigan | 174 |
| District of Columbia | 164 |
| New Jersey | 142 |
| Georgia | 131 |
| Oregon | 130 |
| Arizona | 126 |
| Delaware | 106 |
| Missouri | 98 |
| Wisconsin | 94 |
| Minnesota | 92 |
| Indiana | 87 |
| Connecticut | 84 |
| Tennessee | 76 |
| Alabama | 71 |
| Nevada | 69 |
| Utah | 67 |
| South Carolina | 66 |
| Louisiana | 62 |
| New Mexico | 62 |
| Hawaii | 52 |
| Oklahoma | 51 |
| Kentucky | 47 |
| Idaho | 43 |
| Iowa | 38 |
| Kansas | 38 |
| Nebraska | 37 |
| Maine | 36 |
| Arkansas | 34 |
| Montana | 34 |
| Wyoming | 31 |
| West Virginia | 28 |
| Rhode Island | 27 |
| Mississippi | 24 |
| New Hampshire | 23 |
| Vermont | 22 |
| Alaska | 20 |
| Not stated | 18 |
| Puerto Rico | 17 |
| South Dakota | 15 |
| North Dakota | 14 |
| VI | 1 |
Tracked states also have their own pages. Example: California.
By subsection
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 501(c)(3) | 6,660 |
| 501(c)(6) business league, chamber of commerce, or real estate board | 192 |
| 501(c)(4) civic league, social welfare, or local employee association | 51 |
| 501(c)(7) social or recreational club | 17 |
| 501(c)(5) labor, agricultural, or horticultural | 3 |
| 501(c)(13) cemetery company | 2 |
| 501(c)(9) voluntary employees' beneficiary association | 1 |
| 501(c)(10) domestic fraternal society | 1 |
| 501(c)(12) benevolent life insurance, mutual ditch, or cooperative telephone | 1 |
| 501(c)(19) veterans' organization | 1 |
By ruling year
Ruling year is the year on the determination letter, not the month the EIN was added to the extract.
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 2025 | 884 |
| 2024 | 736 |
| 2026 | 566 |
| 2023 | 431 |
| 2022 | 399 |
| 2014 | 318 |
| 2019 | 257 |
| 2018 | 240 |
| 2015 | 230 |
| 2021 | 230 |
| 2017 | 215 |
| 2020 | 212 |
| 2016 | 201 |
| Not stated | 4 |