NTEE major group W
Public & Societal Benefit
The group is the first character of NTEE_CD on the Exempt Organizations Business Master File. The revocation file does not carry NTEE, so this page does not assign automatic revocations to the group. Labels are the IRS common-code names.
35,776
Organizations on the current BMF in this group.
IRS EO BMF eo1.csv–eo4.csv · file last-modified October 13, 2026 UTC · IRS page posting date 10/13/2026 · parsed October 19, 2026 UTC
By state
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| California | 4,116 |
| Texas | 2,455 |
| Florida | 1,982 |
| New York | 1,805 |
| Pennsylvania | 1,617 |
| Illinois | 1,203 |
| Ohio | 1,200 |
| Virginia | 1,130 |
| Georgia | 1,034 |
| North Carolina | 1,025 |
| Michigan | 976 |
| New Jersey | 924 |
| Colorado | 768 |
| Massachusetts | 768 |
| Missouri | 746 |
| Minnesota | 744 |
| Indiana | 729 |
| Tennessee | 699 |
| Maryland | 684 |
| Washington | 681 |
| Wisconsin | 672 |
| South Carolina | 659 |
| Arizona | 654 |
| Oregon | 557 |
| Iowa | 534 |
| Alabama | 517 |
| District of Columbia | 485 |
| Kentucky | 455 |
| Oklahoma | 425 |
| Louisiana | 414 |
| Connecticut | 389 |
| Kansas | 384 |
| Nevada | 334 |
| Utah | 334 |
| Mississippi | 302 |
| Arkansas | 299 |
| Nebraska | 289 |
| Montana | 261 |
| Idaho | 251 |
| Maine | 224 |
| Delaware | 219 |
| New Mexico | 219 |
| New Hampshire | 215 |
| Hawaii | 209 |
| West Virginia | 194 |
| Wyoming | 191 |
| South Dakota | 166 |
| Alaska | 141 |
| North Dakota | 130 |
| Vermont | 130 |
| Rhode Island | 126 |
| Puerto Rico | 54 |
| AE | 16 |
| AP | 15 |
| Not stated | 13 |
| VI | 9 |
| AA | 1 |
| AS | 1 |
| GU | 1 |
| MP | 1 |
Tracked states also have their own pages. Example: California.
By subsection
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 501(c)(3) | 26,238 |
| 501(c)(19) veterans' organization | 6,204 |
| 501(c)(4) civic league, social welfare, or local employee association | 2,032 |
| 501(c)(12) benevolent life insurance, mutual ditch, or cooperative telephone | 519 |
| 501(c)(6) business league, chamber of commerce, or real estate board | 267 |
| 501(c)(7) social or recreational club | 136 |
| 501(c)(14) credit union or mutual corporation | 133 |
| 501(c)(1) government instrumentality | 69 |
| 501(c)(8) fraternal beneficiary society | 52 |
| 501(c)(10) domestic fraternal society | 41 |
| 501(c)(2) title-holding corporation | 29 |
| 501(c)(5) labor, agricultural, or horticultural | 28 |
| 501(c)(13) cemetery company | 17 |
| 501(c)(25) title-holding company for pensions | 5 |
| 501(c)(9) voluntary employees' beneficiary association | 3 |
| 501(c)(16) crop-financing cooperative | 1 |
| 501(c)(23) veterans' association formed before 1880 | 1 |
| 4947(a)(1) private foundation (Form 990-PF filer) | 1 |
By ruling year
Ruling year is the year on the determination letter, not the month the EIN was added to the extract.
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 2025 | 4,060 |
| 2024 | 3,896 |
| 2026 | 2,812 |
| 2023 | 2,541 |
| 2022 | 2,451 |
| 2014 | 2,368 |
| 2019 | 1,755 |
| 2021 | 1,544 |
| 2018 | 1,404 |
| 2020 | 1,388 |
| 2016 | 1,343 |
| 2017 | 1,311 |
| 2015 | 1,165 |
| Not stated | 11 |