NTEE major group X
Religion-Related
The group is the first character of NTEE_CD on the Exempt Organizations Business Master File. The revocation file does not carry NTEE, so this page does not assign automatic revocations to the group. Labels are the IRS common-code names.
206,183
Organizations on the current BMF in this group.
IRS EO BMF eo1.csv–eo4.csv · file last-modified October 13, 2026 UTC · IRS page posting date 10/13/2026 · parsed October 19, 2026 UTC
By state
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| California | 25,323 |
| Texas | 22,553 |
| Florida | 16,976 |
| New York | 16,036 |
| Georgia | 9,225 |
| North Carolina | 7,999 |
| Illinois | 6,921 |
| New Jersey | 6,613 |
| Pennsylvania | 6,318 |
| Ohio | 6,028 |
| Maryland | 5,822 |
| Virginia | 5,451 |
| Michigan | 4,674 |
| Tennessee | 4,562 |
| Indiana | 4,418 |
| Missouri | 3,938 |
| Colorado | 3,584 |
| South Carolina | 3,557 |
| Arizona | 3,464 |
| Alabama | 3,162 |
| Washington | 3,160 |
| Massachusetts | 3,035 |
| Louisiana | 2,894 |
| Oklahoma | 2,715 |
| Minnesota | 2,361 |
| Kentucky | 2,205 |
| Wisconsin | 2,099 |
| Oregon | 1,825 |
| Arkansas | 1,785 |
| Connecticut | 1,784 |
| Mississippi | 1,679 |
| Kansas | 1,431 |
| Nevada | 1,391 |
| Iowa | 1,237 |
| New Mexico | 959 |
| Delaware | 899 |
| Idaho | 787 |
| Nebraska | 770 |
| Hawaii | 766 |
| West Virginia | 723 |
| Utah | 657 |
| Montana | 627 |
| District of Columbia | 604 |
| South Dakota | 413 |
| Rhode Island | 406 |
| Alaska | 395 |
| New Hampshire | 385 |
| Maine | 367 |
| Wyoming | 291 |
| North Dakota | 259 |
| Puerto Rico | 209 |
| Vermont | 192 |
| Not stated | 104 |
| VI | 57 |
| GU | 37 |
| MP | 33 |
| AS | 10 |
| AE | 5 |
| AP | 2 |
| FM | 1 |
Tracked states also have their own pages. Example: California.
By subsection
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 501(c)(3) | 205,715 |
| 501(d) apostolic and religious organization | 111 |
| 501(c)(8) fraternal beneficiary society | 85 |
| 501(c)(4) civic league, social welfare, or local employee association | 78 |
| 501(c)(2) title-holding corporation | 75 |
| 501(c)(6) business league, chamber of commerce, or real estate board | 26 |
| 501(c)(7) social or recreational club | 25 |
| 501(c)(13) cemetery company | 21 |
| 501(c)(10) domestic fraternal society | 16 |
| 4947(a)(1) private foundation (Form 990-PF filer) | 9 |
| 501(c)(9) voluntary employees' beneficiary association | 6 |
| 501(c)(19) veterans' organization | 5 |
| Subsection 91 (description not in the EO BMF code table used here) | 5 |
| 501(c)(5) labor, agricultural, or horticultural | 3 |
| 501(c)(25) title-holding company for pensions | 2 |
| 501(c)(12) benevolent life insurance, mutual ditch, or cooperative telephone | 1 |
By ruling year
Ruling year is the year on the determination letter, not the month the EIN was added to the extract.
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 2025 | 13,852 |
| 2024 | 11,162 |
| 2014 | 10,761 |
| 2026 | 10,010 |
| 2022 | 9,897 |
| 2023 | 8,451 |
| 2019 | 8,024 |
| 2015 | 7,114 |
| 2020 | 6,562 |
| 2016 | 6,489 |
| 2017 | 6,285 |
| 2021 | 6,276 |
| 2018 | 5,979 |
| Not stated | 21 |