NTEE major group Y
Mutual & Membership Benefit
The group is the first character of NTEE_CD on the Exempt Organizations Business Master File. The revocation file does not carry NTEE, so this page does not assign automatic revocations to the group. Labels are the IRS common-code names.
17,810
Organizations on the current BMF in this group.
IRS EO BMF eo1.csv–eo4.csv · file last-modified October 13, 2026 UTC · IRS page posting date 10/13/2026 · parsed October 19, 2026 UTC
By state
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| Texas | 1,509 |
| New York | 1,235 |
| California | 1,194 |
| Pennsylvania | 1,060 |
| New Jersey | 674 |
| Ohio | 673 |
| Illinois | 620 |
| Missouri | 559 |
| Florida | 557 |
| Indiana | 527 |
| Tennessee | 513 |
| Virginia | 508 |
| Minnesota | 466 |
| Michigan | 413 |
| Georgia | 408 |
| Mississippi | 391 |
| Washington | 376 |
| Iowa | 374 |
| Massachusetts | 351 |
| North Carolina | 326 |
| Maryland | 312 |
| Wisconsin | 302 |
| Kentucky | 287 |
| Colorado | 281 |
| Alabama | 276 |
| Louisiana | 270 |
| Arkansas | 266 |
| South Carolina | 237 |
| Oregon | 231 |
| Connecticut | 227 |
| Oklahoma | 195 |
| Arizona | 191 |
| West Virginia | 181 |
| Maine | 167 |
| Kansas | 161 |
| Nebraska | 147 |
| Idaho | 135 |
| Utah | 128 |
| District of Columbia | 118 |
| North Dakota | 106 |
| South Dakota | 105 |
| New Mexico | 103 |
| Nevada | 100 |
| Montana | 85 |
| New Hampshire | 76 |
| Hawaii | 75 |
| Vermont | 72 |
| Rhode Island | 67 |
| Delaware | 54 |
| Alaska | 50 |
| Wyoming | 45 |
| Not stated | 12 |
| Puerto Rico | 6 |
| VI | 4 |
| AP | 2 |
| AE | 1 |
| AS | 1 |
Tracked states also have their own pages. Example: California.
By subsection
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 501(c)(13) cemetery company | 4,726 |
| 501(c)(8) fraternal beneficiary society | 3,100 |
| 501(c)(3) | 2,612 |
| 501(c)(9) voluntary employees' beneficiary association | 1,998 |
| 501(c)(10) domestic fraternal society | 1,801 |
| 501(c)(12) benevolent life insurance, mutual ditch, or cooperative telephone | 944 |
| 501(c)(6) business league, chamber of commerce, or real estate board | 860 |
| 501(c)(4) civic league, social welfare, or local employee association | 466 |
| 501(c)(7) social or recreational club | 455 |
| 501(c)(5) labor, agricultural, or horticultural | 224 |
| 501(c)(15) mutual insurance company | 198 |
| 501(c)(19) veterans' organization | 163 |
| 501(c)(2) title-holding corporation | 146 |
| 501(c)(25) title-holding company for pensions | 56 |
| 501(c)(17) supplemental unemployment benefit trust | 38 |
| 501(c)(29) qualified nonprofit health insurance issuer | 9 |
| 501(c)(27) state-sponsored workers' compensation reinsurance | 4 |
| 501(c)(11) teachers' retirement fund association | 3 |
| 501(c)(21) black lung trust | 2 |
| 501(c)(14) credit union or mutual corporation | 1 |
| 501(c)(26) state-sponsored high-risk health insurance organization | 1 |
| 501(n) charitable risk pool | 1 |
| Subsection 91 (description not in the EO BMF code table used here) | 1 |
| 4947(a)(1) private foundation (Form 990-PF filer) | 1 |
By ruling year
Ruling year is the year on the determination letter, not the month the EIN was added to the extract.
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 2014 | 1,931 |
| 2025 | 1,240 |
| 2024 | 831 |
| 2026 | 822 |
| 2016 | 734 |
| 2022 | 714 |
| 2019 | 704 |
| 2015 | 670 |
| 2023 | 640 |
| 2020 | 601 |
| 2017 | 572 |
| 2018 | 503 |
| 2021 | 481 |
| Not stated | 8 |