NTEE major group Z
Unknown
The group is the first character of NTEE_CD on the Exempt Organizations Business Master File. The revocation file does not carry NTEE, so this page does not assign automatic revocations to the group. Labels are the IRS common-code names.
8,064
Organizations on the current BMF in this group.
IRS EO BMF eo1.csv–eo4.csv · file last-modified October 13, 2026 UTC · IRS page posting date 10/13/2026 · parsed October 19, 2026 UTC
By state
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| California | 1,424 |
| New York | 558 |
| Texas | 542 |
| Pennsylvania | 439 |
| Florida | 395 |
| Washington | 322 |
| Ohio | 236 |
| Illinois | 222 |
| Oregon | 209 |
| Massachusetts | 199 |
| Georgia | 197 |
| New Jersey | 189 |
| Michigan | 182 |
| North Carolina | 180 |
| Virginia | 169 |
| Minnesota | 148 |
| Missouri | 145 |
| Wisconsin | 144 |
| Maryland | 141 |
| Colorado | 136 |
| Indiana | 130 |
| Arizona | 129 |
| Kentucky | 129 |
| Tennessee | 104 |
| Connecticut | 96 |
| Alabama | 91 |
| Oklahoma | 80 |
| Hawaii | 77 |
| Iowa | 77 |
| Nevada | 70 |
| South Carolina | 68 |
| District of Columbia | 62 |
| Louisiana | 61 |
| Kansas | 58 |
| Idaho | 54 |
| Arkansas | 51 |
| Mississippi | 51 |
| Utah | 48 |
| Montana | 43 |
| Maine | 42 |
| Nebraska | 42 |
| New Hampshire | 38 |
| Delaware | 37 |
| West Virginia | 37 |
| Alaska | 34 |
| New Mexico | 31 |
| Rhode Island | 31 |
| South Dakota | 28 |
| Vermont | 28 |
| Wyoming | 21 |
| North Dakota | 16 |
| Not stated | 11 |
| Puerto Rico | 8 |
| VI | 2 |
| GU | 1 |
| MP | 1 |
Tracked states also have their own pages. Example: California.
By subsection
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 501(c)(3) | 7,483 |
| 501(c)(6) business league, chamber of commerce, or real estate board | 117 |
| 501(c)(4) civic league, social welfare, or local employee association | 115 |
| 501(c)(7) social or recreational club | 89 |
| 501(c)(15) mutual insurance company | 73 |
| 501(c)(5) labor, agricultural, or horticultural | 47 |
| 501(c)(2) title-holding corporation | 28 |
| 501(c)(19) veterans' organization | 27 |
| 501(c)(13) cemetery company | 20 |
| 501(c)(8) fraternal beneficiary society | 15 |
| 501(c)(12) benevolent life insurance, mutual ditch, or cooperative telephone | 12 |
| 501(c)(10) domestic fraternal society | 8 |
| 4947(a)(1) private foundation (Form 990-PF filer) | 8 |
| 501(c)(1) government instrumentality | 6 |
| 501(c)(25) title-holding company for pensions | 6 |
| 501(c)(9) voluntary employees' beneficiary association | 4 |
| 501(c)(27) state-sponsored workers' compensation reinsurance | 3 |
| Subsection 91 (description not in the EO BMF code table used here) | 2 |
| 501(c)(14) credit union or mutual corporation | 1 |
By ruling year
Ruling year is the year on the determination letter, not the month the EIN was added to the extract.
| Group | Organizations |
|---|---|
| 2014 | 1,789 |
| 2022 | 478 |
| 2021 | 378 |
| 2020 | 243 |
| 2019 | 230 |
| 2023 | 178 |
| 2018 | 140 |
| 2017 | 134 |
| 2015 | 124 |
| 2016 | 96 |
| 2025 | 81 |
| 2026 | 75 |
| 2024 | 60 |
| Not stated | 4 |